A large number of residents and dignitaries gathered for the presentation on a dull but mild Sunday afternoon on 22nd September 2013. 


The CPRE, Hills Group and Wiltshire Council sent their representatives along for the presentations.


Wiltshire CPRE President Mrs. Sarah Troughton unveiled the sign shield for the 2013 Medium Village Winner - us!

Cllr Sylvia Butcher accepts award

In one of severl presentations Cllr. Sylvia Butcher accepted the framed winner's certificate.

Celebratory Cake Cutting

Mrs. Sarah Troughton cuts the celebratory cake baked by the villagers and served as part of the celebrations at the Village Hall after the ceremonies. 

(All photos taken on the day by Jonathan Ashridge except cake cutting by Adrian Gray)

This year’s judging of the HillsGroupCPREWiltshireBestKeptVillage Competition 2013, sponsored by the Hills Group, is now completed. The First Round of the competition saw the expert judging teams from the Wiltshire Branch of the Campaign for the Protection of Rural England putting each village under the microscope. 50 villages throughout the county were tested against the competition criteria which look for tidiness, cleanliness, presentation and village community spirit. The Parish Councils and their volunteers had clearly been hard at work, pushing up the standard and making the judges’ task that much more difficult.  

The following villages impressed the judges sufficiently to go through to the CountyRound from which are determined the best kept Small, Medium and LargeVillage in Wiltshire to go forward to the final round: Alderbury, All Cannings, Biddestone, Blunsdon, Box, Bratton, Brixton Deverill, Burbage, Maiden Bradley, Seagry, Steeple Ashton, Stert and Teffont. It would seem that if your village name starts with a B the Gods are very much on your side! 

The winning six villages from 2011 and 2012 cannot compete in the main competition but are encouraged to enter the Laurence Kitching Award, sponsored by NFU Mutual. This year, Dinton, Great Hinton, Hilperton, Lea and Ramsbury have thrown their hats into the ring.

Judging for the overall winners of the Small, Medium and LargeVillages for the whole of the county together with the Laurence Kitching Award has also just been completed.  The results are

Large Village - Burbage

Medium Village – All Cannings

SmallVillage – Teffont

Laurence Kitching Award – Dinton 

Each village will keep an eight foot standard with mounted shield for a year emplaced on their village green. The award ceremony will be held at each of the three winning villages on Sunday 22nd September when CPRE Wiltshire’s President, the Lord-Lieutenant for Wiltshire, Mrs Sarah Troughton, will pull away the Union Flag surmounting the shield; a plaque will be presented by the CEO of The Hills Group, Mr Michael Hill and another plaque from Wiltshire Council will be presented by the Chairman of the Council, Mrs Christine Crisp and cash prizes awarded by CPRE Wiltshire Chairman, Mr George McDonic, to each winning village.